Phonetic Interference in English Learning: Indonesia Case Study

Indonesians, unlike English speaking countries provides a group of observable phonetic variations. Its diversity on dialects contribute much to the unique English speaking. If I may say, students who learn English in Indonesia cannot get out of their regional dialect during their speech. There I meet my students of Javanese who speak stressed and voiced consonants (especially /b/, /d/, and /g/). While I assisted my Lampung student in her debating contest, she spoke [make] into /mæk/ rather than received /meik/. It is fantastic hearing my north-part-Javanese or commonly known as Ngapak students who pronounce [a] as /a/, rather than /:o/. This kind of dialect is unlike other Javanese style of speech.
Phonetic variations create interference during my students’ English speaking class. I am a linguistic learner, therefore I understand this phenomenon. My bad for some old-fashion or Received-Pronunciation fellows cannot retain this as a good sign of English as an International Language. In the end, the whole class is forced to be as British as possible. The result was incredibly flabbergasted for those who can be a British-parrot. However, it was such a horror for bold Javanese, bold Sundanese, and other bold regional dialect students.
Remember that phonetic focuses not only on sounds, but also intonation. It was in my breastfeeding time that I watch some home-made baby food videos. All downloaded ones present Italian mom, British chef, Indian chef, and Mexican mom. One point awakes me! I understand their English speaking. I do understand the way they cook without watching the moms, but by listening to it. At this point, interference in term of intonation is not dangerous. Likewise, in term of sound, as long as it is in the same allophone.
If I may say, the more confusing part of English is when the speaker has a strong interference of syntax. As what happened in Indonesia recently: Viki case. Further, Indonesian translator are caught by fever for the translated text is full of ungrammatical interference.
Upcoming discussion: Morphology and Syntax interference!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment